Mercury Release 2007 Schedule

Posted: Jan. 4, 2007

The Phoenix Mercury, under the direction of new general manager Ann Meyers Drysdale, with All Stars Diana Taurasi and Cappie Pondexter, and owners of the No. 1 pick in the 2007 WNBA Draft, today announced the teams schedule for their upcoming 11th WNBA season.

Phoenixs 34-game regular season schedule runs from May 19 through August 19 and includes four nationally televised games. The Mercurys June 2 contest at the Connecticut Sun will be broadcast on ABC while the June 5 and July 17 home games against the Minnesota Lynx and Seattle Storm, respectively, and the August 7 matchup in Los Angeles with the Sparks will be carried by ESPN2.

For the fourth time in the last five seasons Phoenix will open the year at home, hosting the conference-rival San Antonio Silver Stars on Saturday, May 19 at 7:00 p.m. at US Airways Center. San Antonio returns for the Mercurys annual matinee game, a 12:30 p.m. tip off on Wednesday, July 11.

The Mercury will play one back-to-back set, visiting Connecticut on June 2 and the New York Liberty on June 3. Phoenix will also play three home-and-home sets this season against Houston (June 24th at Phoenix, June 30th at Houston), Minnesota (July 22 at Phoenix, July 25 at Minnesota) and Sacramento (August 17 at Sacramento, season finale August 19 at Phoenix).

Ten of the Mercurys 17 home games will be played on a weekend night. Phoenixs 2007 schedule includes three road trips of three or more games, including a season-long four-game trip from July 31 through August 7.