Phoenix Mercury Announce 2015 Opening Night Roster

PHOENIX – The three-time WNBA Champion Phoenix Mercury announced their Opening Night Roster for 2015 today. Led by the 2014 WNBA Coach of the Year, Sandy Brondello, the Phoenix Mercury roster includes five members from the 2014 WNBA Championship team and seven newcomers.

Returning to the Mercury in 2015 are center Brittney Griner, guard/forward DeWanna Bonner, forward Candice Dupree, forward Mistie Bass and guard Tiffany Bias.

Four WNBA veterans join the Mercury via free agency for the 2015 season. Guard Shameka Christon is a ten-year veteran, forward Monique Currie is a nine-year veteran, guard Leilani Mitchell is a six-year veteran and guard Noelle Quinn is an eight-year veteran.

The Mercury Opening Night roster includes three WNBA rookies: forward/center Cayla Francis (Australia), guard Alex Harden (Wichita State) and guard Tess Madgen (Australia). Francis and Madgen were each signed as free agents while Harden was selected with the 18th overall pick in the 2015 WNBA Draft.

Sandy Brondello, 2014 WNBA Coach of the Year, leads All-Star Candice Dupree and three-time WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year DeWanna Bonner as the Mercury open defense of their title tomorrow at 7 p.m. against the San Antonio Stars at US Airways Center. That night, the Mercury will unveil the 2014 WNBA Championship banner and have a pregame championship ring ceremony. Tickets are available by calling 602-252-WNBA or by visiting Fans attending Friday’s game are encouraged to arrive at 6:30 p.m. to ensure they do not miss the pregame ceremonies.