Phoenix Mercury Narrow 2020 Roster to 11 Players

Mercury Waive Four Players

In preparation for a potential 2020 return to play, and at the direction of the WNBA, the three-time WNBA Champion Phoenix Mercury has narrowed its roster to 11 players.  WNBA all-time leading scorer Diana Taurasi, 2019 league scoring champion Brittney Griner and newly acquired four-time All-Star Skylar Diggins-Smith look to lead a Mercury roster infused with experience and youth, athleticism and shooting, during an offseason retooling.  Phoenix’s additions include 2014 WNBA All-Star Jessica Breland, 2019 WNBA Champion Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Bria Hartley, Kia Vaughn and Nia Coffey.  The Mercury did it all while retaining bright young talent from their 2019 draft class, 2019 WNBA All-Rookie Team member Brianna Turner, Sophie Cunningham, and Alanna Smith.

Returning for her seventh season at the helm of the Mercury is the winningest coach in franchise history and 2014 WNBA Coach of the Year Sandy Brondello.

With the narrowing of the roster, the Mercury has waived 2020 WNBA Draft picks Te’a Cooper and Stella Johnson, along with training camp invitees Olivia Epoupa and Sara Blicavs.


No.       Player                        Pos.      Ht.       Wt.    Birthdate  Exp  

51        Jessica Breland                F          6-2       166      02/23/1988    8

10        Nia Coffey                         F          6-1       182      06/11/1995      3

9          Sophie Cunningham      G          6-1       170      08/16/1996     1

4          Skylar Diggins-Smith    G          5-9       145      08/02/1990    6

42        Brittney Griner               C          6-9       205      10/18/1990     7

14        Bria Hartley                     G          5-8       148      09/30/1992    6

11        Alanna Smith                   F          6-4       180      11/10/1996      1

3          Diana Taurasi                 G          6-0       163      06/11/1982     15

21        Brianna Turner               F          6-3       170      07/05/1996     1

1          Kia Vaughn                      C          6-4       205      01/24/1987    10

2          Shatori Walker-Kimbrough    5-9       140      05/18/1995       3

HEAD COACH: Sandy Brondello (Australia)

HEAD ATHLETIC TRAINER: Hannah Breck (Boston University)

STRENGTH AND CONDITIONING COACH: Derrick Nillissen (Iowa Wesleyan)

Professional basketball returns to The Madhouse, as the Phoenix Mercury bring their quest for a record-tying fourth WNBA Championship to Veterans Memorial Coliseum, the original home of the Phoenix Suns.  Join superstars Diana Taurasi, Brittney Griner, Skylar Diggins-Smith and the X-Factor at one of basketball’s loudest venues.  Tickets can be purchased by calling 602.252.WNBA or by visiting