Mercury, Returning Legends to Host 20th Season Celebration

The three-time WNBA Champion Phoenix Mercury will host its 20th Season Celebration on Thursday, June 9 when the team takes on the San Antonio Stars at Talking Stick Resort Arena. Tipoff is scheduled for 7 p.m., with doors set to open at 5:30 p.m.

In honor of the 20th season of the Mercury and WNBA, Mercury legends who have had great impacts on the history of the franchise will be recognized during a special halftime ceremony.  Those scheduled to attend include Cheryl Miller, the team’s original head coach and general manager, who coined the name “X-Factor” for the Mercury fans; Jennifer Gillom, one of two original players allocated to the Mercury when the league was established; Ann Meyers Drysdale, still a vice president of the team, who helped build championship rosters in 2007 and 2009 as the team’s general manager; Paul Westhead, head coach who led the franchise to its first title in 2007, and revamped the league’s style of play; Corey Gaines, head coach who led the franchise to its second title in 2009 and an assistant on the 2007 staff; Seth Sulka, a member of the Mercury staff from Day 1 whose time as general manager included the drafting of Diana Taurasi and the selection of Penny Taylor.  The crowd will also see special video messages from Bridget Pettis and Michele Timms, both members of the original 1997 Mercury.

As part of the celebration, the first 2,500 fans will receive a Cheryl Miller bobblehead that features the likeness of Cheryl Miller, complete with her signature suspenders and a Mercury tie. An image of the Cheryl Miller bobblehead is below.

The team will also honor its past with a number of in-game elements including original crowd prompts by Cheryl Miller and Jennifer Gillom, integration of the Mercury’s original intro video, and a throwback Hip Hop Squad performance. There may even be some surprises from Mercury mascot Scorch, too!